Home > Employment Relations > Holidays and leave > Public holidays > Public holiday dates > Current year

Public holiday dates - 2014

While these lists have been compiled from the information provided, in good faith, we can give no guarantees of accuracy.

  Actual Date Observed 2014notes
New Year's Day 1 January Wednesday 1 January
Day after New Year's Day 2 January Thursday 2 January
Waitangi Day 6 February Thursday 6 February
Good Friday varies Friday 18 April
Easter Monday varies Monday 21 April
ANZAC Day 25 April Friday 25 April
Queen's Birthday 1st Monday in June Monday 2 June
Labour Day 4th Monday in October Monday 27 October
Christmas Day 25 December Thursday 25 December
Boxing Day 26 December Friday 26 December

The Anniversary Day of the Province in which an employee works is observed as follows:

Province Actual Date Observed 2014notes
Auckland 29 January Monday 27 January
Taranaki 31 March Monday 10 March
Hawke's Bay 1 November Friday 24 October
Wellington 22 January Monday 20 January
Marlborough 1 November Monday 3 November
Nelson 1 February Monday 3 February
Canterbury 16 December Friday 14 November
Canterbury (South) 16 December Monday 22 September
Westland 1 December Monday 1 December
Otago 23 March Monday 24 March
Southland 17 January Tuesday 22 April
Chatham Islands 30 November Monday 1 December

Notes

Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day & 2 January Holiday These public holidays are observed on the actual day when they fall on a weekday. When they fall on a Saturday/Sunday:
  • If the employee would normally have worked on the Saturday/Sunday, the public holiday is observed on the Saturday/Sunday
  • If the employee would not normally have worked on the Saturday/Sunday, the public holiday is observed on the following Monday/Tuesday
Waitangi and ANZAC Days* From 1 January 2014 the public holiday for ANZAC Day and Waitangi Day will be “Mondayised” if they fall on a Saturday or Sunday.
Easter Easter dates confirmed by Catholic Church.
Provinces These relate to the former Provinces of 19th Century New Zealand and are not related to or determined by present-day Districts or Regions.
Provincial Anniversary Days These are generally observed on the Monday nearest to the actual day with exceptions listed below.
Taranaki Anniversary Moves to 2nd Monday in March to avoid Easter.
Hawke's Bay Anniversary Moves to Friday before Labour Day.
Marlborough Anniversary Observed 1st Monday after Labour Day.
Canterbury Anniversary Northern & Central Canterbury areas observe Christchurch Show Day. The definition for the Canterbury Anniversary Day celebration as decided by Christchurch City is the second Friday after the first Tuesday in November each year. South Canterbury observes Dominion Day, the 4th Monday in September.
Westland Anniversary Varies throughout Westland, but Greymouth observes the official day.
Otago Anniversary As there is no easily determined single day of local observance for Otago then the parties should rely on either their employment agreement or their own custom and practice. Where there is no clear custom and practice then the parties should seek to find an agreement on how they will observe Anniversary Day.

If parties are unhappy with how this matter has been handled in their workplace they can seek assistance from a Labour Inspector, or if they require help to settle agreement in their workplace they can seek assistance from the Department's mediation service.
Southland Anniversary In December 2011 the three southern Mayors decided Southland Anniversary Day will be celebrated on Easter Tuesday